FCSF Hails 60th Anniversary Scholarships & Service Awards Ceremony

Front row from left Alexander Awni, Pia Costanzo, Erin Kim, Mia Moore-Walker, Kaylee Kim, Hannah Ng. Back row from left Kennedy Mitchell-Egbo, Anthony Anderson, Ella Liu, Logan Byun and Joseph Whooley.
Not pictured: Christine Chung and Cameron Hong.
Photo courtesy of Ainslie COVINGTON

Over 100 attendees celebrated the 60th Anniversary of the Foothills Community Scholarship Foundation (FCSF) of La Cañada Flintridge at the FCSF Scholarship, Distinguished Person and Exemplary Service Awards ceremony. An event highlight was the recognition of 13 graduating high school students from six local schools who were awarded scholarships totaling $27,500.

The 2024 Distinguished Service Award was presented to Reverend Chuck Osburn, associate pastor of the La Cañada Presbyterian Church, for his many years of dedicated service. He ignited the group with his keynote address. In addition, Sister Carolyn McCormack, O.P., president of Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy, was bestowed an Exemplary Service Award for her decades-long service to youth and the community.

FCSF President Trish McRae with 2024 Distinguished Person Award recipient Reverend Chuck Osburn, associate pastor, La Cañada Presbyterian Church; Congresswoman Judy Chu and Exemplary Service Award recipient Sister Carolyn McCormack, O.P., president of Flintridge Sacred Heart.
Photo courtesy of Alice PEREZ

As a special tribute, FCSF named a one-year commemorative scholarship on behalf of Reverend Osburn and Sister McCormack that they presented to a student.

Special guest Congresswoman Judy Chu gave empowered remarks and provided resolutions to all the recipients. She thanked FCSF for its years of support in helping youth, which she noted fueled her selection to award FCSF as her Congressional Volunteers of the Year in 2023. To further celebrate the scholarship recipients, district representatives attended and provided certificates on behalf of State Senator Anthony Portantino, Assemblymember Chris Holden and from the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors Kathryn Barger.

The student scholarship awardees from Crescenta Valley High School were Christine Chung, Erin Kim, Alexander Awni, and Hannah Ng; from Flintridge Preparatory School was Mia Moore-Walker; from Flintridge Sacred Heart was Pia Costanzo; from Hillside School & Learning Center was Ella Liu; from La Cañada High School were Joseph Whooley, Cameron Hong, Kaylee Kim and Logan Byun; and from St. Francis High School were Anthony Anderson and Kennedy Mitchell-Egbo.

In gratitude for their support in helping FCSF thrive, Commemorative Service Awards were presented to Barbara Marshall, Karen and Marshall Mathison, and Wendy Wyatt, with Phil Wyatt posthumously recognized. In addition, FCSF member Dr. Michael Leininger accepted the award on behalf of Melinda Thompson, with William Thomas Scherkey posthumously acknowledged. FCSF also named a one-year commemorative scholarship on behalf of each service award recipient, which they presented to a student.

Others present included LCUSD Board of Education Governing Board Vice President Caroline Anderson, Board Clerk Octavia Thuss (both FCSF members), and Governing Board Member Joe Radabaugh, in addition to La Cañada Flintridge Chamber of Commerce Chairman of the Board Dr. Michael Leininger, and La Cañada Flintridge Chamber of Commerce President and CEO Pat Anderson.

“We look forward to this event all year,” said FCSF President Trish McRae. “It’s truly a labor of love as all our volunteers work to make this a special day for everyone. It is gratifying to know we can help these amazing students continue with their higher education goals.”

FCSF Scholarship Director Linda Evans added, “Whether on or off the stage, each student gave heartfelt testimony about what the scholarship means to them and why FCSF is an important part of the community. We invite the public to help us make a difference in students’ lives as they are the future!”

The FCSF Board of Directors are (from left) Treasurer Brenda Gant, President Trish McRae, Vice President Alice Perez, Fundraising Director Mary Gant, Scholarship Director Linda Evans, Membership Director Caroline Anderson and Board Secretary Kaitzer Puglia.
Photo courtesy of Ainslie COVINGTON

To get more information about FCSF, visit www.fcsflacanada.org or email FCSF President Trish McRae at Presidentfcsf@gmail.com.

FCSF President Trish McRae and FCSF Scholarship Director Linda Evans strike a pose.
Photo courtesy Alice PEREZ