New Names on Council Ballot


Registered voters in the Los Angeles County unincorporated area of La Crescenta and Montrose will vote this weekend for their choice of candidates for Crescenta Valley Town Council.

The unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County are governed by the five elected officials that preside on the LA County Board of Supervisors. La Crescenta and unincorporated Montrose are in the fifth district, which is overseen by Supervisor Kathryn Barger.

LA County is the largest and most complex county government in the nation. Because the five districts are composed of so many smaller districts, like La Crescenta, former fifth district Supervisor Michael Antonovich created neighborhood councils whose members were elected to act as the Supervisors’ eyes and ears on issues specific to those areas.

The CVTC does not have legislative powers but does have a direct line of communication to Supervisor Barger’s office. This allows councilmembers the chance to deliver directly the concerns of their constituents. For example when the Foothill (210) Freeway was under construction CVTC members were able to get up-to-date information on its progress. Also, through its Land Use Committee, the council is able to get information on housing and business construction and to make certain construction projects meet the design standards already in place.

“Being on the Crescenta Valley Town Council has been an incredible honor and pleasure. It’s a duty I discharge faithfully and with care. To those to whom much is given, much is expected. I have been given so much – four diplomas from a public university in the Golden State. It’s about public service – literally serving the public, taking seriously your responsibility to represent, and acting responsibly,” said Councilmember Sophal Ear.

He is not up for re-election this year and therefore heads the Election Committee.

There are six candidates running for six open seats. They are (as placed on the ballot) Donna Libra, Jeffrey Rodriguez, Aram Ordubegian, Harry Leon, Ted Yu and Ruben Gonzalez. Even though there are six candidates for six seats it is still important for residents to vote.

“It’s important to determine who will hold the regular seats and who will hold the alternate seats. The vote count will determine the top three (regular seat holders) and the next three (alternates),” he said. “The difference is that regular members get three years and can be officers. They have full voting rights. Alternates have one year, must be re-elected after that one year, and only vote if a regular member is absent.”

The election is being held on Nov. 8 from 6 p.m to 8 p.m. and on Nov 9 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at St. Luke’s of the Mountains Episcopal Church, 2563 Foothill Blvd. The parking lot is on Cross Street just east of Rosemont Avenue.

“Built in 1924, St. Luke’s of the Mountains Episcopal Church is one of the area’s oldest buildings. St. Luke’s has been our venue for many years and continues to welcome us,” Ear said. “We’re happy to continue this partnership.”

Registered voters who live in the LA County unincorporated area of La Crescenta and Montrose are eligible to vote in the town council elections.