Supervisor Swears in CV Town Council Board, Officers

Photos by Dick CLUBB
Supervisor Kathryn Barger swears in the 2019 officers of the CV Town Council (from left) Sophal Ear, Desiree P. Rabinov, Mike Claessens, Harry Leon and Daniel Kim.


Fifth District Supervisor Kathryn Barger of the LA County board of supervisors was on hand on Thursday night to swear in the Crescenta Valley Town Council members and its slate of officers – a slate that showed no changes.

Continuing in their roles are Harry Leon as the council president, vice president is Mike Claessens, recording secretary is Daniel Kim, treasurer is Desiree P. Rabinov and corresponding secretary Sophal Ear.

Returning councilmembers are Aram Ordubegian, Kyle Studebaker and Jo Ann Stupakis. Newly elected councilmembers are Carin Hoffman, Donna Libra and Jeffrey Rodriguez.

As new members were welcomed aboard, former councilmembers Mariam Barnes, Charles Beatty and Lisa Griffin were given special commendations by Barger for their work in the community. Council President Harry Leon said it was particularly hard to see Barnes go. She had been on the council with Leon for the past six years in which they both had seen the initiation and progress of the Crescenta Valley Youth Council.

“There’s so much that the CV Town Council did for me,” said Barnes in her farewell speech. “It allowed me to meet great people.”

President Harry Leon presents certificates to outgoing members Mariam Barnes (left) and Lisa Griffin.

Barnes announced her retirement from the council nearly 18 months ago. She decided that it was time to focus her energy on her two children.

“Now I can say goodbye,” said a tearful Leon.

Leon continued with a long list of thanks for everyone involved with the council, making sure to not miss any segment of the community. He also thanked Barger for her continued support of the council.

“La Crescenta has been a lovely place to grow roots and start a family,” said Leon.

After the pleasantries, regular council meeting discussions commenced. The CV Town Council can be reached at their emails found at their website

The CV Town Council meets on the third Thursday of every month in the La Crescenta Library community room, 2809 Foothill Blvd., at 7 p.m.