Students Receive Education Funds

To further the education of local high school graduates, several civic and service organizations raise money throughout the year to fund scholarships. As graduation time draws near, the scholarships are distributed to local recipients, many times as part of a breakfast or dinner or as part of a general meeting.

Below are some of the scholarships that were distributed.


Community Foundation of the VerdugosGavin Traber Joy McCreary Robert Walker


Glendale Latino Association

DSC01804 - Copy WEB


On May 22, the Glendale Latino Association awarded $14,000 in scholarships to 12 excellent students from GUSD, private schools and Glendale Community College. The awardees (pictured from left) are Christopher Aguilar, Adriana Flores, Joshua Amran and Brenda Balan from Glendale College; Saul Pelayo-Brambila, Jacqueline Cuateco and Gisela Aguayo from Glendale High School; Edmee Cuc from Hoover High School; Sydney Stanford from Holy Family High School; Jacqueline Tapia from Glendale College; Joseph Olvera-Sanchez from Clark High School; and Jorge Arias from Glendale College.

St. Bede


Patrons Club of Glendale Community CollegePatrons_scholarship winners group WEB

The Patrons Club of Glendale Community College awarded scholarships at a luncheon on May 15 at the J. Walter Smith Student Center on campus.

The Patrons Club awarded 42 scholarships and 30 grants-in-aid to deserving students, with a total amount of $23,500 distributed. Funds for these scholarships are generated from the yearly fashion show and silent auction, which this year will be held on Nov. 7 at the Castaway Restaurant in Burbank.

Shown in row one from left are Andrew Pirijanian, Sean McLaren, Valerie Enciso, Ariga Gharibian, Ivania Munguia-Contreras, Dalar Melkon, Liyana Avansian, Natalie Sarukhanian, Adriann Flores, Yelena Kurinina and Tyra Kristiansen. In row two are Christopher Aguilar, Michael Shahnazarians, Hrach Agazaryan, Bliss Saleebyan, Genevieve Conway, Allison Paxton, Arda Tchakian, Andrea Menjivar, Anika Rampino, Monique Gavorkian, Marie Grace Nsaavu Nzau, Emily Garibian, Sandra Bermudez, Noor El Farra, Melinda Housepian, Christina Djeredjian and Theodore Arakelian. In row three are Arin Hartounian, Noche Nwofer, Hovannes Kervanbachian, Melissa Montano, Jonathan Stuart, Jason Blancett, Andy Juarez, Skyler Saleebyan, Tyler Dunivan-Scott, Andadell Murray and Ryan Gustafsen.

Not pictured: Juan J. Ubilluss


Crescenta Valley Town Council0201 IMG_0120 IMG_0132 IMG_0140

At its May meeting, the Crescenta Valley Town Council distributed scholarships to 20 Crescenta Valley High School seniors. Presenters included recognition from the offices of local representatives Congressman Adam Schiff, Senator Carol Liu, Assemblyman Mike Gatto and Supervisor Michael Antonovich.

Kiwanis Club of
Montrose-La Crescenta2014_KiwanisScholarshipRecipients WEB

Kiwanis Club of Montrose-La Crescenta President Robert Wollenweber with scholarship recipients (back row from left) John Blood, Andrew Hart, Gavin Traber, Daniel Jung, Jaeho Lee. Front row from left are Jesse Gabor, Crystal Im, Devi Ganapathi, Nari Shin and Paulette Hacopian.


Joyce Ruygrok and Eileen Harada of the La Cañada AM Kiwanis presented the Hope of America and David Hermann awards to Franklin High School K Club members at their awards night.