Scene in LA – April 2021

By Steve ZALL and Sid FISH

COVID-19 vaccinations will be available to everyone who wants one starting April 15, which will certainly help us along the road to recovery, although it will still be some time before we see live theatre returning to local venues. Case rates are still high but seem to be on a steady decline overall, and we are seeing gradual reopening in other sectors such as theme parks and movie theaters. The state is also constantly re-evaluating its guidelines and we could see live theater approved anytime at limited audience capacity, so keep following the local news to find out if anything changes.

A few brave theaters are already offering live performances:

“The Ghosts of Mary Lincoln” is an evening of blood, madness and murder. There are tales of White House séances, presidential grave robbers, warnings from the undead and that fateful night at Ford’s Theatre. The widow Lincoln has been freed from the asylum! Tom Dugan in a solo performance depicts an array of incidents and characters.

Written by Tom Dugan and directed by Shelby Sykes, it runs April 2 through May 1 at Dugan’s Backyard Playhouse in Woodland Hills. Physical distancing will be observed. Out of necessity, the audience will be strictly limited in size. Hand sanitizers will be readily available, outdoor fans will be in use and audience members will be required to wear masks.

For tickets email dbptickets@gmail.com.

“Little Women” will be presented as the grand re-opening production of the Glendale Centre Theatre in Glendale on dates to be announced soon. The City of Glendale has notified the theatre that it may reopen at limited capacity to ensure social distancing and patrons will be required to wear facemasks and be subject to temperature testing to ensure the safety of all guests.

For more information, visit the website http://www.glendalecentretheatre.com.

The rest of the theatres continue to expand their online offerings with more and more events to experience on a virtual basis. Some of these online events are only available on a one-time basis, while others are ongoing and can be viewed anytime on-demand. Visit each of the websites below to see what is being offered. Readers will find free content as well as pay-per-view to choose from.

Here are the links to websites we know have online offerings:

3-D Theatricals https://3dtheatricals.org/homepage/

https://www.thereceiptswithd.com/

A Noise Within

 

https://www.anoisewithin.org/
Antaeus Theatre https://www.antaeus.org/
“Assassins Anniversary” http://www.studiotenntalks.com/
“Blood/Sugar” https://www.dianawyenn.com/
Boston Court Pasadena https://bostoncourtpasadena.org/
CaltechLive! https://events.caltech.edu/

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL8_xPU5epJde-Z37yHrap6ix3ZKHT0v6g

Coeurage Ensemble https://www.coeurage.org/
“Dogs Are Better Than
People”
https://www.whitefiretheatre.com/
Echo Theater Company https://www.echotheatercompany.com/
For the Record Live https://www.ForTheRecordLive.com/
Fountain Theatre https://www.fountaintheatre.com/
Garry Marshall Theatre https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgS_NHHl5mY_DvxNoQ9V9ZA
Gay Men’s Chorus of

Los Angeles

https://www.gmcla.org/
“Gideon and The Blundersnorp” http://www.gideonmusical.com
Hero Theatre http://www.herotheatre.org/
IAMA Theatre Company http://www.iamatheatre.com/

http://www.woollymammoth.net/

https://www.queenstheatre.org/

International City Theatre http://www.InternationalCityTheatre.org/
“John Cullum: An Accidental Star” https://www.vineyardtheatre.org/an-accidental-star/
Kentwood Players http://www.kentwoodplayers.org/

https://www.youtube.com/kentwoodplayers

Laguna Playhouse https://www.lagunaplayhouse.com/
L.A. Chamber Orchestra http://www.laco.org/laco-at-home
L.A. LGBT Center https://lalgbtcenter.org/theatre
L.A. Theatre Works (fee & free) https://www.latw.org/broadcasts

https://www.latw.org/black-voices

https://www.latw.org/setting-stage-learning

https://latw.org/digital-season

Latino Theater Company https://www.thelatc.org/
Loft Ensemble https://www.loftensemble.org/
Long Beach Opera https://www.longbeachopera.org/
Morgan-Wixson Theatre https://www.morgan-wixson.org/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC15-mNl7vwkjJ8H1T-yOIHw

Moving Arts https://www.movingarts.org/
Pasadena Playhouse https://www.playhouselive.org/
Pepperdine University https://arts.pepperdine.edu/

https://www.instagram.com/pepperdinetheatre/?hl=en

Robey Theatre Company

 

https://www.therobeytheatrecompany.org/
Rogue Artists Ensemble https://www.rogueartists.org/rogue-lab
Rubicon Theatre https://www.rubicontheatre.org/
Sacred Fools http://www.sacredfools.org/

 

Santa Monica Playhouse https://www.santamonicaplayhouse.com/
Sierra Madre Playhouse https://www.sierramadreplayhouse.org/
South Coast Repertory https://www.scr.org/
Theatre 40 https://www.theatre40.org/
Theatre 68 https://youtube.com/68centcrewtheatre
The Blank Theatre (fee)

 

The Blank Theatre (free)

https://www.patreon.com/TheBlankTheatre

http://www.theblank.com/livingroomseries/

https://www.youtube.com/user/TheBlankTheatreCo

The Broad Stage https://www.thebroadstage.org/

https://www.thebroadstage.org/athome

The Geffen Playhouse (fee) https://www.geffenplayhouse.org/
The Group Rep https://www.thegrouprep.com/
The Matrix Theatre “Scraps” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oLdXs4A7NBw&feature=youtu.behttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oLdXs4A7NBw&feature=youtu.be
The Road Theatre Company https://www.roadtheatre.org/live

https://www.youtube.com/roadtheatrecompany/live

The Soraya https://www.thesoraya.org
The Victory Theatre Center https://www.thevictorytheatrecenter.org/
The Wallis

The Wallis Studio Ensemble

https://thewallis.org/

https://thewallis.org/streaming

https://www.instagram.com/wallis_studio_ensemble/

https://www.films.dance/

“UnRavelled” https://www.UnRavelledPlay.com
Verdi Chorus https://www.verdichorus.org/
West Coast Jewish Theatre http://www.wcjt.org/
“Who I Am” https://youtu.be/VTD8G9dOB5Q