Scene in LA – January 2021

Well, the holidays are over and Los Angeles County is under lockdown once again with the highest number of COVID-19 cases since the start of the pandemic last March. Our hospitals are also at full capacity – which means that theaters are still not likely to resume live performances anytime soon.

As such, most surviving theaters continue to expand their online offerings with more events to experience on a virtual basis. Some of these online events are only available on a one-time basis, which are often not announced far enough in advance to be included in this monthly column, while others are ongoing and can be enjoyed on-demand. You will have to visit the venue’s website to see what’s available. Many are free to watch while some charge a fee.

Here are the links to the theater websites that have provided online offerings:

24th Street Theatre http://www.24thStreet.org/
3-D Theatricals https://3dtheatricals.org/homepage/

https://www.thereceiptswithd.com/

A Noise Within https://www.anoisewithin.org/
Antaeus Theatre https://www.antaeus.org/
Boston Court Pasadena https://bostoncourtpasadena.org/
CaltechLive! https://events.caltech.edu/
Coeurage Ensemble https://www.coeurage.org/
Echo Theater Company https://www.echotheatercompany.com/
For the Record Live https://www.ForTheRecordLive.com/
Fountain Theatre https://www.fountaintheatre.com/
Garry Marshall Theatre https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgS_NHHl5mY_DvxNoQ9V9ZA
Gideon and The Blundersnorp http://www.gideonmusical.com
IAMA Theatre Company http://www.iamatheatre.com/

http://www.woollymammoth.net/

International City Theatre http://www.InternationalCityTheatre.org/
Kentwood Players http://www.kentwoodplayers.org/
Laguna Playhouse https://www.lagunaplayhouse.com/
L.A. Chamber Orchestra http://www.laco.org/laco-at-home
L.A. LGBT Center https://lalgbtcenter.org/theatre
L.A. Theatre Works (fee & free) https://www.latw.org/broadcasts

https://latw.org/black-voices

https://latw.org/setting-stage-learning

Latino Theater Company https://www.thelatc.org/
Long Beach Opera https://www.longbeachopera.org/
Morgan-Wixson Theatre https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC15-mNl7vwkjJ8H1T-yOIHw
Pasadena Playhouse https://www.playhouselive.org/
Robey Theatre Company https://www.therobeytheatrecompany.org/
Rogue Artists Ensemble https://www.rogueartists.org/rogue-lab
Rubicon Theatre https://www.rubicontheatre.org/
Sacred Fools http://www.sacredfools.org/
Santa Monica Playhouse https://www.santamonicaplayhouse.com/
Sierra Madre Playhouse https://www.sierramadreplayhouse.org/
South Coast Repertory https://www.scr.org/
Theatre 68 https://youtube.com/68centcrewtheatre
The Blank Theatre (fee)

The Blank Theatre (free)

https://www.patreon.com/TheBlankTheatre

https://www.youtube.com/user/TheBlankTheatreCo

The Broad Stage https://www.thebroadstage.org/athome
The Geffen Playhouse (fee) https://www.geffenplayhouse.org/
The Group Rep https://www.thegrouprep.com/
The Matrix Theatre “Scraps” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oLdXs4A7NBw&feature=youtu.behttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oLdXs4A7NBw&feature=youtu.be
The Road Theatre Company https://www.roadtheatre.org/live

https://www.youtube.com/roadtheatrecompany/live

The Soraya https://www.thesoraya.org
The Victory Theatre Center https://www.thevictorytheatrecenter.org/
The Wallis

The Wallis Studio Ensemble

https://thewallis.org/

https://thewallis.org/streaming

https://www.instagram.com/wallis_studio_ensemble/

Whitefire “Where Do We Go from Here?” https://www.tickettailor.com/events/whitefiretheatre/463074

Until we emerge from this recent spike in cases, we encourage everyone to stay safe by wearing a facemask and practicing proper social distancing at all times, especially when outside in public.

Our warmest wishes go out to all of our readers as we continue to navigate the surging waters of this ever-changing pandemic!

Steve Zall and Sid Fish