People Making News

Hofstra University and the Dept. of Athletics announced the creation of the Hofstra Athletic Director Scholars Academic Honor Roll, recognizing the work of Pride student-athletes in the classroom. Caylie Denham of Tujunga earned a spot on the initial list. This list acknowledges the outstanding achievement of Hofstra undergraduate student-athletes who have successfully completed at least 12 credits with a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.3 for the spring 2019 semester.

In addition, those individuals who earned a 4.0 GPA will be acknowledged on the provost’s list and those with a 3.5 GPA or above on the dean’s list. A total of 159 Hofstra student-athletes were named to the list for the spring semester.

Denham graduated from Hofstra University in May earning a Bachelor of Science in athletic training.

Hofstra University is home to 21 intercollegiate sports that compete at the NCAA Division I level in the Colonial Athletic Association and Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association.


James Murphy of La Cañada, a junior secondary education – social studies major at York College of Pennsylvania, has been named to the dean’s list for the spring 2019 semester. To be eligible for this honor, a student must be registered for at least 12 academic credit hours and earn a semester GPA of 3.50 or higher.

A private college, York College offers more than 50 baccalaureate majors in professional programs, the sciences and humanities to its 4,100 undergraduate students. The College also offers master’s programs in business, education and nursing, and a doctorate in nursing practice.


Aidan Phillips of La Cañada Flintridge has been placed on the Gettysburg College dean’s honor list for outstanding academic achievement in the spring 2019 semester. Students with a quality point average of 3.60 or higher (on a 4.0 scale) for a semester’s work are placed on the college’s dean’s honor list.

Founded in 1832, Gettysburg College in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania is a highly selective four-year residential college of liberal arts and sciences with a strong academic tradition that includes Rhodes Scholars, a Nobel laureate and other distinguished scholars among its alumni. The college enrolls 2,600 undergraduate students and is located on a 200-acre campus.


Erika Johnson of Glendale (91208), Joshua Kim of Montrose and Sarah Lee of La Crescenta were named to the dean’s list for the spring 2019 semester at Wheaton College.

Wheaton College, located in Wheaton, Illinois, is a coeducational Christian liberal arts college noted for its rigorous academics, integration of faith and learning, and consistent ranking among the top liberal arts colleges in the country. For more information, visit


Courteney Campbell of Glendale was among the nearly 700 students awarded degrees at the 99th annual commencement ceremony at Rockhurst University in Kansas City, Missouri on Saturday, May 18. Campbell received a Bachelor of Arts degree in psychology and graduated cum laude.

Rockhurst University is one of 27 Catholic, Jesuit universities in the United States. It seeks to challenge students while providing a supportive environment for intellectual and personal growth.


Kate Schiller of La Cañada Flintridge graduated from Bates College in Lewiston, Maine after majoring in history and minoring in religious studies and education. Schiller, the child of Mr. and Mrs. John J. Schiller of La Cañada is a 2015 graduate of Mayfield Senior School.

Bates College graduated 469 students from 36 states and 36 countries on May 26. Cumulatively, the Class of 2019 performed 80,000 hours of community service, exemplifying Bates’ commitment to community learning and civic action.


David Schwartz of Glendale, a member of the class of 2022 majoring in biomedical engineering, was named to the Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) dean’s list for academic excellence for the spring 2019 semester.

A total of 1,598 undergraduate students achieved the criteria required for WPI’s spring 2019 dean’s list, which differs from that of most other universities as WPI does not compute a grade point average (GPA). Instead, WPI defines the dean’s list by the amount of work completed at the A-level in courses and projects.


Amy Giboney of La Crescenta was among the 1,519 students named to the Samford University’s 2019 spring semester dean’s list. To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must have earned a minimum 3.5 grade point average out of a possible 4.0 while attempting at least 12 credit hours of coursework. Dean’s list is the highest academic recognition given by the school at the end of each semester.

Amy Giboney is majoring in sports medicine (HP).

Samford University is located in Birmingham, Alabama.


Pamela Bogust of Sunland, who graduated with a Master of Science in metallurgical engineering, Kiersten Anderson of Provo, Utah, who graduated with a Bachelor of Science in human development and family studies, Caroline Attwood of Glendale, who graduated with a Bachelor of Science in management, were among 8,465 students who graduated from the University of Utah in May.

The University of Utah, located in Salt Lake City, is the flagship institution of higher learning in Utah. Founded in 1850, it serves over 31,000 students from across the U.S. and the world.


Stepan Naldzhyan of Tujunga graduated from Pacific University (Oregon) with a bachelor’s degree in politics and government.

Founded in 1849, Pacific University is a nationally recognized university offering undergraduate, graduate and professional programs in the arts & sciences, business, education, optometry, and health professions from campuses in Forest Grove, Hillsboro, Eugene and Woodburn, Oregon.


Gonzaga University student Liam Cascelli of Glendale earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in psychology, philosophy and graduated cum laude on Sunday, May 12.

Gonzaga University is a private Catholic, Jesuit, and humanistic university providing education to more than 7,800 students. Situated along the Spokane River near downtown Spokane, Washington, Gonzaga offers 75 fields of study, 26 master’s degrees, doctorate degrees in leadership studies and nursing, and a juris doctor degree through the School of Law.