People Making News

Loyola Marymount University announced the following students named to the dean’s list for the fall 2012 semester:

From La Crescenta: Karina Alvarez, Zily Burstein, Priscilla Casper, Samantha Harwood, Jazmin Infante, John Jabbra and Carlee Kreisel. From Glendale: Amanda Lockwood, Amanda Schwartz and Yusef Trad. From La Cañada: Ian Balisy, Sarah Duncan, Nathan Eisenberg, Derek Georgino, Kelsey Glidewell, and Nicole Yonan.

Students named to the dean’s list have completed 15 semester hours at LMU and earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better. Additionally, a student must have completed all of his or her courses and never received an F in any course.

Located between the Pacific Ocean and downtown Los Angeles, Loyola Marymount University is a comprehensive university offering 60 major programs, 36 master’s degrees and a doctoral degree in education from four colleges, two schools and Loyola Law School.


Kiersten Abueg of La Crescenta, a student at Immaculate Heart High School, has been nominated to represent California as a national youth correspondent to the 2013 Washington Journalism and Media Conference at George Mason University.

Abueg has been awarded the opportunity to join a select group of 250 students from across the country to participate in an intensive week-long study of journalism and media. Abueg was chosen based on academic accomplishments and a demonstrated interest and excellence in journalism and media studies.

National youth correspondents participate in hands-on, experiential learning through decision-making simulations that challenge them to solve problems and explore the creative, practical, and ethical tensions inherent in journalism and media.


Drew University student Michelle Kim of La Crescenta has been named to the dean’s list for the fall 2012 semester. In order to qualify for the dean’s list, students must earn a grade point average of 3.6 or above.

Founded in 1867, Drew is a selective, independent, coeducational university with a total enrollment of more than 2,300 students in its College of Liberal Arts, Caspersen School of Graduate Studies and Theological School.


Sharon Chin is among the students named to the Elmhurst College dean’s list for the fall term of the 2012-13 academic year.

The dean’s list is compromised of students who, during the semester concerned, attained a grade-point average of 3.75 or higher (out of a possible 4.00).

Elmhurst College is a leading liberal arts college located eight miles west of Chicago.


Connor Vandagriff, son of Cris and Janet Vandagriff of Glendale, was named to the dean’s list for the fall 2012 semester at Saint Michael’s College. Vandagriff is a first-year media studies and digital arts major at the liberal arts, residential Catholic college located in Burlington, Vt., one of America’s top 10 college towns. Students who complete a minimum of 12 credits and achieve a grade point average of at least 3.4 at the end of a semester are recognized for their scholarship by inclusion on the dean’s list.

Vandagriff graduated from St. Francis High School before coming to Saint Michael’s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.