MVCOC Welcomes New Board, Awardees

Posted by on Jan 27th, 2011 and filed under Between Friends. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Photos by Robin GOLDSWORTHY Left: The newly installed board of directors for the MVCOC. Right: Assemblyman Mike Gatto addressed the attendees of the annual installation dinner of the Montrose-Verdugo City Chamber of Commerce.


Last Thursday night under a clear sky at the La Cañada Country Club the Montrose-Verdugo City Chamber of Commerce offered thanks to its outgoing board members who completed years of service while it welcomed new board members at the annual installation dinner.

Mike Perry of Fidelity National Title Company passed the gavel to newly elected chamber president Scott Trulik of Ocean View Investments. Trulik was enthusiastic in his acceptance speech, outlining plans that the chamber has for the year that include new projects that would enhance the local business community.

A highlight of the evening was a brief presentation given by Assemblyman Mike Gatto. Gatto congratulated the board for its work and urged audience members to keep active within the chamber as it is a major contributor to the local economy.

After the swearing in of the new officers, local civic leaders and businesses were recognized for their work in the community:

Business of the Year: J’s Maintenance

Organization of the Year: Boy Scout Troop #317

Volunteer of the Year: Suzanne Paine

Business Person of the Year: Joe Kroening

Peace Officer of the Year: Dave Silversparre

Frank Roberts Award: Steve Pierce

Beautification Award: Sake Sushi Bar & Lounge

President’s Award: Jana Wunderlich

Community Enhancement Award: Montrose Church

Oktoberfest Volunteer Award: Kirk Phillips

Community Endearment Award: Rick Dinger.

Particularly touching was the posthumous presentation of Educator of the Year to Bud Yoho. Yoho had been a long time member of the chamber board and died unexpectedly just before Oktoberfest, the biggest fundraiser for the MVCOC. It was announced at the installation dinner that in the future the Educator of the Year award would be named the Bud Yoho Award.

The evening ended with the distribution of donated items for the opportunity drawing.

Leave a Reply


Photo Gallery
  /  Los Angeles Web Design By Caspian Services, Inc.